Letting go of love

Posted on February 6, 2012

3


letting go of love

Dear ex boyfriend XYZ,

I’m writing to you from —-. It’s been exactly 27 days since we split and 20 days since we last spoke. I was well on the way to recovery, heck I had even stopped checking my phone. And then I saw you online. You had come online knowing you’d find me there. Of course I didn’t reach out to you. I’m still waiting for you to do that. Remember? You told me you’ll call me later? I’m still waiting.

Anyway, this letter isn’t to make you feel guilty. Its to let you know that even though I’ll never understand why we couldn’t make it work, I don’t hold it against you. Like I said, a relationship implies two people. Both of them equally important. And if you think we won’t work out in the long run, I’m sure you have a damn good reason for believing that. Just because I don’t see it that way doesn’t make it wrong.

So I release you. From all that I held over you, I release you. I hope you have a happy and successful life. I pray (despite being an atheist) that you get everything you ever wanted. I wish you find the kind of love you are looking for. You were/are a truly spectacular person and I see something in you that most people may not see. I see a glimmer of ambition and I know you are going to do brilliant things ahead. I just hope we’ve patched up by then and are on talking terms so that I can walk up to you and congratulate you on all your success knowing that somewhere, my belief in you played a part.

I’m writing to you to tell you that I understand. Being with someone is difficult. Breaking up with someone you love is harder. I know for the longest time I couldn’t figure out why we had to be apart even though we were crazy about each other. But you were right, our idea about love varies. You couldn’t give me what I wanted and I most definitely couldn’t be the girl of your dreams. But gosh xyz! Imagine if we’d tried. I think not knowing the outcome of that if is what is killing me. Didn’t you think I was worth the effort? I wasn’t asking for the moon, was I?

Damn! I’d promised myself I wouldn’t do this. Anyway, all things said and done, I would love it if we could be friends. I know it may not be possible now or even two years later, but whenever you are ready, pick up that phone and call me. I loved you for a reason and that reason still exists.

I will always be waiting.

Love needs work

Photograph via sxc.hu